Outside Panem

REVIEW: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

FacebookTwitterGoogle+Other

Copyright: 2015 Pages: 357 pages (hardcover) Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Goodreads Summary: Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the […]

REVIEW: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

REVIEW: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Copyright: 2013 Pages: 295 pages (hardcover) Genre/Style:  Romance fiction Goodreads Summary: An international sensation, this hilarious, feel-good novel is narrated by an oddly charming and socially challenged genetics professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love. Don Tillman, professor of genetics, has never been on a second date. He is a […]

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Copyright: 2014 Pages: 422 pages (hardback) Genre: YA fantasy – First book  in the Snow Like Ashes trilogy. Goodreads Summary: A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making. Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who […]

#HungerGamesExclusive: Rebel Warriors

Given that it’s been so long since I’ve read Mockingjay, I found the #HungerGamesExclusive’s feature piece on the Rebel Warriors to be a helpful refresher! If, like me, you’re planning on re-reading the book before November 21st, this might also help you in preparing to dive back into the world of District 13 and get […]

Jennifer Lawrence Poses for Miss Dior

Has anyone heard about the terrible chill we’re expecting this season? I’ve heard, at least on the East Coast, that we should be seeing twenty (twenty!!) times the amount of snow as last year. I guess you have to take the word of the weatherman with a grain of salt, because to me it looks […]

REVIEW: Storm Siren by Mary Weber

Copyright: 2014 Pages: 320 (hardcover) Genre: YA fantasy Goodreads Summary: In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled. As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male […]

REVIEW: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Copyright: 2014 Pages:  416 pages (hardcover) Genre/Style: YA Dystopian Goodreads Summary: An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna. Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father […]

White Horse by Alex Adams

Copyright: 2012 Pages: 306 pages (hardcover) Genre: Adult Post-Apocalyptic Goodreads Summary: Thirty-year-old Zoe leads an ordinary life until the end of the world arrives. She is cleaning cages and floors at Pope Pharmaceuticals when the President of the United States announces that human beings are no longer a viable species. When Zoe realizes that everyone she loves is […]

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

Copyright: 2007 Pages: 458 pages (paperback) Genre: Dystopian fiction – First book in the Incarceron series Goodreads Summary: Incarceron — a futuristic prison, sealed from view, where the descendants of the original prisoners live in a dark world torn by rivalry and savagery. It is a terrifying mix of high technology — a living building which pervades the novel as an […]

Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Copyright: 2006 Pages: 337 Pages (Hardcover) Genre/Style: Dystopian fiction Goodreads Summary: Miranda’s disbelief turns to fear in a split second when a meteor knocks the moon closer to the earth. How should her family prepare for the future when worldwide tsunamis wipe out the coasts, earthquakes rock the continents, and volcanic ash blocks out the sun? As summer turns […]